My first book report in about 15 years

Copyrighted image (R)

I love me a good book. There’s nothing quite like turning off the TV and curling up on the couch with a new read. Or climbing into bed early to put away a few chapters before your eyes get too heavy (which for me never takes long).

Lately I’ve been craving some good book-time and have fortunately carved out enough time over the past couple weeks to bang out a novel and a photography book. Since I’m really trying to make an effort with this whole photography thing, I did some research and decided to pick up “The Digital Photography Book Part 1” by Scott Kelby. I just finished it 2 nights ago and would like to share some thoughts:

First of all, this book was so much fun to read because Kelby’s writing was both humorous and informative. I was literally laughing out loud at some points, which I never expected would happen when I decided to pick up a book of this sort. The other thing I loved was how “broken up” each chapter/section was. It made it so easy for a busy gal like myself to get through because I could literally pick it up for 5 minutes or an hour.

Having had some professional training (if you read one of my previous posts I worked for Lifetouch(R) for a year) there was a decent amount of “knowledge” in the book that I already knew. But given I haven’t worked professionally for about 4 years now, I didn’t mind the refreshers. Sometimes it takes a book to remind you that your camera has all sorts of settings that you can adjust and readjust… you don’t just have to point and shoot 🙂

There was also a great amount of information that I didn’t know… or things I had never thought of before reading this book. It’s full of little tips about sharpness, exposure, equipment and everything else photography-related. Because of this book, I feel like I can’t snap another picture before getting myself a flash diffuser. I may need to go out tomorrow and buy one. For real.

Taking the time to actually sit down and refresh/expand my knowledge base on photography has given me even more drive than I’m already feeling. And to that end, I have booked 2 photoshoots in April! I am so excited to get out there and start taking actual portraits, pretending to be a professional portraiture photographer as I build a portfolio to get myself real, paying clients someday! I am also excited to get some of my work posted to my blog (after all, that’s what a photography blog is all about!) and hopefully get some feedback from you photogs that’ll help me grow and improve.

So for now… I just look forward to April and to my next photography book. Any suggestions?!

Leave a comment